Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Planning

:o Help!

I job share in a mixed reception year 1 class. It is a small class only 8rec and 11year 1 but am becoming increasingly depressed about work. The year 1's are the young year 1's all June, July Aug birthdays and reception all the Sep to Dec birthdays.The school has had lots of problems which are hopefully on the way to being resolved which I admit is an obvious contributing factor - it has been a very difficult and testing year so far. This is my first year in a mixed class though have been teaching for years previously in in Nursery and reception. I love foundation stage and early years and our unit got good from ofsted in last years inspection so must have been ok. However I feel that I am increasingly having to work in a way that I am not comfortable with - the children are now only objectives and targets and everything is 'planned' The year ones have to have inappropriate lined literacy books and to me there is no joy in teaching any more. My job share partner is not someone I would have chosen - we have nothing in common and she seems very happy to be told what to do and takes everything very literally. She has emailed me some plans and I am so depressed it is untrue - just after I had begun to feel more positive about things. I can't afford to give up work and there are absolutely no jobs to even apply for to get out.

Out literacy unit is the non fiction bit and she seems to think this means we can't have any fiction stories in the class! Our topic is growth so there are lovely stories that can be used along side the literacy unit and especially for the reception children.

I have started to try and plan numeracy - block d unit 2 and block E unit 2 and the literacy and now just feel sick.