Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Help With Daily Routine

Hi :o

I'm an NQT and I'm new to nursery. I've survived (and loved!) my first half-term as the class teacher in a school-based nursery, but I'm not entirely satisfied with our daily routine. I carried on with a lot of the previous teacher's practices, but I'm not sure that they're working for these children.

I'm considering introducing a rolling snack system rather than the whole-class snack time that we have at the moment. While I see the benefits of having a whole-class snack, I'm finding that my children are becoming unsettled during this time. My TAs are very sceptical - they told me that the previous teacher tried a continuous snack system and it didn't work, mainly because some children kept helping themselves to more fruit than they should have done. But surely the children should be able to manage their own portions if there is an appropriate system in place and it is modelled for them first. How do others manage a rolling snack approach?

Also, is there a set number of adult-focused activities I should be doing per day/week? I've looked at the previous teacher's planning and she seemed to do an awful lot of AF activities each week. I just wondered what other people's routines are. At the moment, I try to plan one AF activity per day, and we do this during a dedicated group time towards the end of the session. However, I'm not sure this is working. Instead, I've considered having an AF activity running alongside the child-initiated learning, but there are practical issues here too, such as ensuring that every child accesses the activity.