Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Buying Things For Your Classroom

Hi everyone,

I just have to get this of my chest!

After yet another treck to IKEA last weekend I am feeling rather miffed with the whole resource situation in our 3 Reception Classes. :o It is my first year in my school and I have found that after many turbulant years and misspending we have a very under resourced foundation stage.

The final straw came when I went into school yesterday after my Nursery Nurse kindly donated a morning of her time to do displays to find that the only colours left in the whole school to do our 'spring' topic display boards in was brown or red backing (red has been banned by my head) and purple edging.

Our head is giving us £500 between 3 Reception Classes but as we only have 3 outdoor bikes at present our head wants us to buy at least 2 more at around £70 each.

I have tried to be inventive and thrifty with things that we have got but I feel like I'm cheating my kids out of a proper foundation stage especially when it comes to the basics like 'we can't do painting or glueing today as we have got non left'

Thanks for hearing my moan

It must be so frustrating :o Your head doesn't seem to understand that a couple more bikes are not going to make that much difference to the quality of your provision!

When I've run out of backing paper, or have only got the wrong colours, I've got the children to roller paint over it whilst it's on the wall! (Low display boards in my place!) It's fine if you're going to cover it with lots of other work, so you don't see much of it.

Thanks helen for the advice, that is a really good idea obout the roller painting - my display boards are high up but I could use the 'white side' of the backing paper. Just looked in the catalogue at the price of poster paint 70p!!! We don't have any at the moment but at that price it can't be impossible to get.