Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Letters And Sounds Just Learning The Sounds First Time Round Or Writin

Hi there,

After quite a few years in years 1 and 2 I'm new to Reception. I've heard different teachers say different things about introducing phase 2 of letters and sounds. What would you advise, do you introduce all of the letter sounds first quickly, then go back over them and introduce the handwriting of the letters afterwards, or do you do it all in one go more slowly?

Thanks!

xx

We introduce the formation doing large movements in the air, on the carpet etc... I then model it on the IWB and choose 1 or 2 children to come and show the rest of the children. We then go over the formation of them when we do our focussed handwriting which is done in the letter formation groups.

You can also practise letter formation in shaving foam spread out on a table, in sand trays (cheap plastic trays from the garden centre are good), in chalk outside on the playground, in the air with ribbons on sticks, on each others' backs, in flour on a table. These multi sensory methods are especially good for dyslexic children but work for everyone.

Hope these ideas are useful.

I don't start L&S phase 2 till after half term: I find that a lot of our children come into school with no or very little experience of phase 1 activities so I spend the first half term using those. After half term we start on Phase 2, and in January we start Phase 3 with the very secure Phase 2 children and identify the children that need to extend their knowledge of phase 2.