Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Settling In An Eal Child Please Help

Hello, I am quite new to the forum and would like to introduce myself. I am an NQT Reception teacher and have a little boy in my class who is EAL and keeps calling out during story time and wanted to ask for advice on how to handle this correctly from the beginning if anyone can help please!

He is an internal child from the Nursery and during his time he did receive a lot of 1:1 tuition and was allowed to just wander around and do whatever he wanted during carpet time. However, I want to make sure he understands from the beginning that he is the same as everyone else and needs to behave the same. His English is really improving and his mum has said that he even speaks English now during the afternoons rather than his mother tongue so she is very happy with this, however, she asked if she could suggest something to me and this was for him to be the child who is chosen for everything when on the carpet. I said no as of course I will involve him as I am already doing but explained that he needs to learn from the beginning the right way to behave and that it maybe hard at the beginning but that this should make life easier later on! He definitely is improving but the problem is he keeps laughing and making very silly noises during carpet time and does not really respond when I ask him to stop (well he does for a while but then starts again) and you can see the other children are a little frustrated already as the story keeps being interrupted and they can't hear. I did use the happy and sad face and when I wrote his name under the sad face he seemed to respond quite well, but I do not want him to feel this means nothing. I will be putting the traffic lights into place once all children join the class, but as it is currently mornings only and a staggered approach, I thought it was best to wait to introduce this as a whole group and the marbles as a reward.