Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

New To The Fsf And Reception In Septemeber

Hi, I am new to the foundation stage forum and will be a new reception class teacher in september, I have been working in Year 1 for two years now and have been asked to move down to reception. From working in Year 1 i have a good knowledge of the EYFS profile and lots of activities and ideas for teaching reception children. I have been teaching in reception this past term for two days of the week, to get to grips with assessment and observations, however I am struggling to get my head around how to plan a session in reception including child initiated learning. I am presuming child initiated is where children choose their own area within the classroom whether this be the sand, role play, water, creative table etc... and then use activities and resources YOU put in their to initiate their own learning, for example: If you are doing a topic on the world, in the book corner, you may place a story sack, or stories from other countries, in the creative area you may be looking at making clay pots for diwali, or your small world tray may be set up as an eygptian desert to encourage S&L and role play - i hope this is right? If this is right, do you therefore share with the children what is in each area after your introduction on the carpet?

Sorry If i sound totally useless i just don't want to mess it up, having had two fabulous years in year 1!

Any help would be gratefully recieved!

PS: i hope i have posted this correctly!!

Hi and welcome.

You have certainly come to the right place! However, I would have to say please dont think you have moved down to reception as that seems to degrade the wonderful place that reception can be although I am sure you dont really mean that!