Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Where To Go From Here?!

Currently I am working as a teaching instructor in a KS1 class. I have been an instructor for 5 years, 4 of those years spent in FS/EYFS. Over those years I have resat my maths GCSE 4 times :o so that I can further my career by applying for a PGCE. So far I have a BTEC ND in nursery nursing, a BA(hons) in Fine Art, and 7 GCSES at A-C, including english and science.

The first year I applied for a GTP where I got to interview stage but I messed up the maths skills test (maths is forever my biggest demon xD ) so I didn't get in, they did ask to keep my details on record for another time but I kind of ignored this as I was so annoyed at being made to feel like a muppet at the interview (I left in tears as they were so rude about the school I was working at and were generally snooty) and I wasn't given the extra time for my skills tests due to my dyslexia and dyscalculia because they "hadn't made provision"

Fast forward a few years and I now have a 1 year old :( and I applied for QTS assessment only route once coming back to work, also I applied to do maths -again- I was so worried about the maths that I never considered being unsuccessful in my QTS application- which I was. I am still hearing about the maths but I am sure I have messed that up to as I was having a particulary bad day the day I took it :(

That brings me to now, I am unsure where to go, I was sooo focused on what I was going to do that there seemed like no other way. One thing I do know now is that I want to be back in early years as KS1 doesn't suit me although I have enjoyed the new challenge.

Sooo what to do? try and get back into early years and do maths in a few years and then EYPS, leave and have another baby or just hang on and do it all in a few years.

Some words of wisdom from people would be gratefully recieved!!