Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Application Help Needed!

I am a qualified teacher, but have been working in Early Years (preschool) for the last 2yrs.....I am now desperate to teach in a school setting and am currently applying for a year 1 position. I am really struggling to put down in words exactly WHY! I am trying desperately to think of reason why such a transition could be favourable to the school.....I need to set myself apart from those who have been in reception/year 1 for some time compared to me.

Anybody got any views on this to get me going? :o

I think you could say something like "I feel more extensive knowledge and experience would be of great benefit in KS1, especially with the changes in the curriculum and the assessment of children through observations. I also feel it is is very important the the learning journey from EYFS to KS1 is continued to give children a smoother transistion and it may be of benefit to children who have not yet achieved their targets in EYFS"

Hope this helps

The head at my school feels quite strongly that EY trained teachers are of a great benefit in a KS1 class as they have the knowledge of attachement theories and child development etc which your average teacher may not have, so I think mentioning how you can apply the skills gained in your EY setting to a school setting would be good.

Edited by Jester

I think you could say something like "I feel more extensive knowledge and experience would be of great benefit in KS1, especially with the cahnges in the curriculum and the assessment of children through observations. I also feel it is is very important the the learning journey from EYFS to KS1 is continued to give children a smoother transistion and it may be of benefit to children who have not yest achieved their targets in EYFS"

Hope this helps

sorry about the spelling mistakes

I knew someone would come along and give my brain a kick start!