Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Mixed Aged Classes

Hi

I am new to this today but was after some advice and help. I have recently got a post as reception, year 1 and year 2 teacher. I was after some help from people with similar or the same mixed aged classes on how they plan and arrange their classroom to suit all children. I have no access to an outside area unless it is supervised and I have never taught reception before. So any little pointers on planning or anything would be very much appreciated.

Cheers.

Edited by Guest

Welcome to the Forum lola1 and congratulations on making your first post.

I wonder how many teachers have a mixed Reception, Year One and Year Two class? Are you in a very small school? Hopefully someone will come along with some words of wisdom!

Maz

Hi Lola1 and welcome. We do have some members here in similar situations so hopefully they will be along soon. There is mixed age group planning on the lancs gfl and i think on standards for the framework.

Good luck.

Thank you all for your lovely welcome.

Maz it is quite a small school - 80ish in total.

Susan I hope the other members in similar situations read my plea for help :o and come and give me some advice. I have been on the standards site but it's only Yr1/Yr2 mix and doesn't include Reception which is unfortunate. I have also had a look on the lancs gfl and it is similar. So fingers crossed someone on here can be of use.

Pip

Hi Lola, I've taught R/1/2 mix in my final teaching placement. I did child initiated learning for half of every afternoon for all the children and then would pull the older ones out to do group work with me and my TA as appropriate.

We all did literacy and numeracy in the morning, split into ability. Would do whole class with my yr 1 and 2 and reception would be with TA then we would do group work etc.

What are your numbers? How many in each R/1/2 ?

Edited by helenhunt