Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Organising A Timetable?

I recently wrote about having a new group of nursery children in my Reception class which I have been somewhat panicing about and now I've come to the time to plan for them!

Just wondered if anyone has either had this experience or has any advice on the following:

Bearing in mind my nursery children are only in from 9-11.30 and the receptions obviously in all day, I really don't know where to start in setting out my timetable so that:

a. the nursery experience all the areas of learning over the course of their mornings

b. do the correct number of 'adult led' activities in these areas.

c. the reception still get their 'time' in numeracy/ literacy/ other group activities.

I've had no nursery experience before (so am rather nervous of making a hash of it in front of some nursery TA's I've never worked with before) and am totally clueless about how many carpet sessions they should have and how many activities they should do as 'adult led' activities and in which areas! In the last 2 terms, I've been doing literacy and numeracy in the mornings and more topic based stuff in the afternoon with my receptions but surely if I do this they will only get lit/ num input and not much else! BUT... am I right (probably wrong!) in thinking that they should have at least a bit of phonics and numeracy input each day? But if this is the case, where on earth do I fit anything else?!

My sessions are as follows:

Register/ early morning carpet settling activities 8.45am til 9am

9 til 10.15 session 1

10.15 til 10.30 fruit

10.50 til 11.30 session 2 and nursery to go home with receptions staying til 12 and afternoons too.

When I look at it, the time the nursery group will have is VERY short and I know I run the risk of trying to do too much and then I'll feel like I'm failing them.