Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Nursery Manager

Hi,

I was just wondering if you can manage a day nursery with EYPS but no other child care qualifications? I think you can train for EYPS without any other childcare qualifications as long as you have a degree? Is this true? and if it is, is this qualification enough for you to be able to manage a nursery. I am currently studying the fd in early years so not an issue for me, just wondering really. I think I have a case of assignment aviodance :oxD

Rapunzel

I have come across this and wondered myself. An unrelated degree and a year to do EYPS...... how does that compare to 4 or 5 years doing a relevant degree or NVQ levels 2 3 and 4 or of course many many years experience. Just not sure!

As a Nursery Manager with 30 years childcare experience ( the last 10 as a Manager) and a Foundation Degree, the job has changed out of all recognition really, whereas maybe 5 years ago I would have said no to the long pathway EYPS with no childcare degree, the job now is so much more about business management with childcare tacked on. So if somebody had a business/management degree and had done the long pathway full time EYPS then I am sure they would do a good job. The thing that I still struggle with is the bit about having the Nursery Manager as the settings EYP as well because I feel the two roles and all the responsibilities that go with them are impossible to manage and perform effectively. How can you act as a role model/mentor/trainer to your staff if you are spending at least 60/70% of your time carrying out the management responsibilities as well and not on the floor with the children and staff. :o

hi,

Thanks for replying, just another question. If you didn't have any other childcare qualifications would you have to do the long pathway then?