Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Fsu Numbers

Hi! We are an infant school with 52 p/t nursery places and three yr classes of potentially 30 per class. We want to move to a unit with probably two classes as our numbers are so large. I'd be interested in what others in this forum think.

Our staffing is 1 teacher and two NN in nursery and three teachers and three LSAs in YR.

Hi Aries -

Welcome to the Forum and thanks for posting! :D

I'm not experienced in this area, so I can't offer any useful advice - I'm assuming you've found the recent article we published, and also the number of recent discussions in the FSU forum area? I'm sure some of the others will have more to say on the matter though! :)

hi aries, welcome in.

You do seem to be very well staffed so perhaps 2 parallel units would be a bit cosier and you seem to be able to manage that staffing wise...what about space?

My only concern (from experience) is that you numbers would be very reception top heavy if you move towards a unit. If you have 52 Pt chidlren in nursery do i assume thats 26 FTE? Im just wondering if 26 nusrery children with 90 reception children may miss out on their entitlement and get a bit lost with all those bigger bodies. We found this to be a problem in our current school where our reception numbers nearly doubled our nusery numbers. In the other unit i worked in, this wasnt a problem as the numbers were pretty similar.

Perhasp our FS unit gurus can comment if they have seen this as a problem at all?

Our Unit has 54 Reception (potentially 60) and 22 a.m. and 27 p.m. Nursery (30/30) after Easter. We work in 3 rooms.

I sometimes find these large numbers difficult to deal with - even though we have Family Groups you never get to know the children well enough, especially as we rotate around the rooms fortnightly. The children have free-flow play so there are some children that you rarely see!