Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Organising A Reception Class - Help!

Hi

I've finally plucked up the courage to write my 1st post - not been a member long and I need a little bit of help.

I've been teaching reception for 3 years now and we have always followed a v structured routine - too much numeracy and literacy and not enough coverage of the other areas of learning. We have recently been given the go ahead 2 change things around, finally! I was just wondering if any1 could give me some ideas on the organisation of a reception classroom/ planning, timetable etc. How many adult led activities do you do a week? If I have specific areas in the classroom do the same resources stay out all week or do they get enhanced as the week goes on depending on the children's interests?

Any info would be greatly appreciated!

Thankyou!

Hi

Not sure I will be of much help as our Reception classes are more structured than some! We plan teacher led activities for PSRN/CLL each morning and concentrate on the other areas of learning on an afternoon. The children come to us from very low starting points and this seems to help us raise standards. When not working at teacher led activities the children have access to all stationary areas, we put resources out at beginning of week, observe then plan how to enhance them as week goes on. Good luck with your organisation!

Hi

just thought I'd add what we do, have a class of 30 reception children and only a part time hlta.

After register and assembly I have a short input either linked to area of interest, number or story the children then have a selection of activities put out for them, whilst I do a teacher led activity with one group. Once children have completed their 'set' activity they can choose their own activity.

We have outside play time with rest of school, then children have milk and choose their own activity. I try to do observations during this time.