Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Development Files

mps09

As part of my Foundation Degree I am studying the Statutory Welfare Requirements (and very interesting reading it is too!) :(

The legal requirements for information and compaints states:-

Parents must be given free access to developmental records about their child (for example the EYFS profile)

and I was just wondering how other people achieve this?

In my setting profiles and evidence/observations are kept in individual folders in the filing cabinet and parents are reminded via the newsletter that they are welcome to ask to have a look at their child's file. We also have a 'helping hand' each day, after which parents get a review of their child's progress and details of next steps plus can tick a box to say they want to see file (then we arrange a time for them to come in).

BUT does this allow free access? does this mean that parents should be able to just help themselves? In which case how do you ensure that they don't look at other children's files? Or does it just mean that we must allow them to look whenever they want to?

Currently in a permanent state of confusion..... :oxD:(

N

Hi

In my setting parents can look at their childs file at anytime. All children have their own individual file but all files are kept together on shelf.Parents need to ask member of staff to get their childs file for them. Parent can either look at file in room or take file home for a few days.