Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Six Areas Of Learning In The Classroom

Hi everyone! having a major panic as my headteacher wants me to completely re-aarange everything in eyfs after a SIP visit. I am new to eyfs and so have NO experience in Reception at all. How do you organise the 6 areas of learning in the class room? What sort of activities need to be available? How many children do you work with over a day and how many areas? Does anyone have any examples of planning which they could let me look at so that I might get some idea of what is expected?

many thanks

kazdav1

Edited by Guest

Hi everyone! having a major panic as my headtecaher wants me to completely reaarange everything in eyfs after a SIP visit. I am new to eyfs and so have NO experience in Reception at all. How do you organise the 6 areas of learning in the class room? What sort of activities need to be available? How may childfen do you work with over a day and how many areas? Does anyone have any examples of planning which they could let me look at so that I might get some idea of what is expected?

many thanks

kazdav1

I work in a pack away preschool not reception but my first thing to say is DONT PANIC!

we set our hall our in zones but not specific for each area of development because there is so much cross over between the development areas

our areas are -

1) sand and water - messy creative area

2) book corner with mark making and laptop/ict props

3) carpet area for construction toys and small world

4) Discovery table with various items to explore - maths /construction table

5) physical play

6) role play corner

if you look in the forums resources library for "continous provision planning sheets" (there are a few different ones to look at,) they will give you some ideas of what areas people are putting out, what things they are are putting in each area and how they are implimenting the EYFS in those areas