Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Planning For Sessions In Childrens Centre

how do you plan for sessions such as messy play, stay and play and story time in your children centre?

Also do you have individual files for each child that visits the centre? It is our plan to do this starting in new year I think its a good idea but quite a task!!! Does anyone else do this and what info do you put in the file. We are keeping ours very simple- a photo of the child,personal details, childs likes/dislikes.

Guest Mrs Tiggy Winkle

That's actually a post I could have written myself, so I will wait for the answers to come flooding in...

Hi Unsworth,

I have been working at a Children's Centre for around 6 months now and am really enjoying the new role. As I come from an Early Years back ground spanning over many years, I have devised my own planning sheet for my art and craft sessiosn that I lead. The CC I am employed at is quite new and has recently gained its Full Core Offer. We seem to be able to plan in our own way as long as we follow the Core Offer and the Every Child Matters document.

I have made a longterm plan, using ideas from myself and from the parents and children who attend the art and craft session. On thelong term plan I have included the aim and objective of the session which links into the EYFS/Every Child Matters document.

My session plans include headings for, the theme, the activity, the resources, differentiation and the key vocabularly/ H&S. I colour code the activities I have decided to include in the session and the activities chosen by the parents/children. I also have a heading for which songs or story I will do at the end of the session which will link into the theme.

I also evaluate each session, as to what worked well, what didn't and why. I also write if I have signposted a parent/carer to another agency or if I have supported them in some way.

I hope this is of some help to you.