Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Assessment Of Foundation Subjects In Ks1

KST

Hi,

I am a foundation stage teacher in my 2nd year but my head has asked that I now track progress from reception to end of KS1. And to be honest I have no idea!

My school are very hot on using APPs for literacy and numeracy and coming from foundation stage, it seems great, the perfect step on my the profile. However, with the profile I am used to tracking all areas of learning but the APP only covers lit and num. My school seems to have poor/almost non existance assessment system for the foundation subjects and I am not really sure what or where the assessment scales should be taken from for KS1 - can anyone help? I realise this is probably quite a basic thing to ask but I haven't ever taught KS1.

In reception I have sticky labels with observations of children's learning, is this still appropriate for kS1, it seems to me that incident learning and things the children say are missed in their current assessment. What would be the best way to collate this learning? In an individual learning story like reception? Or is this too much work with everything else?

Sorry for the all questions!

Thanks in advance!

KST

Gosh!

My first question is why is this up to you? Have you taken on the role of assessment coordinator?

If so, then you should have some CPD available to you from your LA.

If not, then again why is this up to you?

What assessments do your KS1 staff currently use, and how do they make their end of KS1 Teacher Assessment?

We track progress against APP and enter our assessment levels onto a grid that HT and AssessCO have devised every half term and to be honest this is in itself a lot of work. There will be new statutory assessment requirements in 2011( I think!) which will introduce assessment of the other subjects bt I do think that you need to trust teacher judgement for some of this plus the new curriculum will no doubt change the balance.