Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Persona Dolls

Guest jamieloh

Guest jamieloh

I'm a doing a research project in Singapore on: Observing Children's responses using persona dolls.

I wonder if anyone can help me.

I need some journals and research related to Persona dolls.

Thank You

Hi Jamie -

Welcome to the forum and thanks for posting! :D Are you working in early years care in Singapore, and if so what are your experiences?

I also wanted to say the forum's a little quiet at the moment, as most practitioners are on holiday. If your need isn't really urgent I'm sure that you'll get a reply eventually. If you need it really soon, let us know.

Welcome again,

Steve.

Guest jamieloh

HI Steve,

I'm working as a preschool teacher in Singapore. I am currently doing my Bachelor of Education and I have worked for about a year.

I'm sourcing for articles and journals for my research project which is due around end of September. I need some literature to support my project.

:D

Hi Jamieloh,

I've recently become interested in using Persona dolls in my setting, and we bought a couple from puppets by post. The first time I brought in "a new, shy friend", two children completely panicked and burst into tears, and I felt I had to show them that they were, in fact, just puppets, and not real little people! The magic had gone :o

However, we do now bring out our little friends occasionally, and the nervous children have become accustomed to them!

A couple of good websites I have come across are:

www.persona-doll-training.org (practitioners sharing their experiences, video and book to purchase about persona dolls)

www.parrot-fish.co.uk

A book I've seen but have no experience of:

Combating Discrimination: Persona Dolls in Action

Babette Brown

One we have in our nursery:

Storylines, by Ros Bayley (from www.educationalpublications.com)

A short article about the use of persona dolls

http://www.rootsforchange.net/pdfs/F3C_Eng...TellingWith.pdf

• 1 month later...