Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Science Investigation

Hi everyone!

I'm new to the foundation stage and to this site so I must say a huge thankyou to everyone for the help I've recieved from you all. I only hope I will be able to be of some help when I've got myself sorted! However, I'm not sure when that will be! I'm finding it all quite difficult!! :o But am thoroughly enjoying myself.

I'm being observed next week by our subject co-ordinators in Literacy, Numeracy, Science and ICT and am very worried about it all!!! I was just wondering if anyone could offer some ideas or support in any way. I have a class of 15 Reception children - I know I'm very lucky!!!

My Literacy big book is 'Polar Bear, Polar Bear'

My Numeracy is Measures - longer/shorter, heavier/lighter etc. Haven't really touched on this with them but they are a very able group and will find direct comparisons fairly simple.

Science - needs to be an investigation of some sort - our topic is animals. Was thinking about investigating the animals in our school grounds - predicting what they might find, investigating and drawing, then coming back in and using books to see if they can find the animlas and work out what they are??

ICT - either Roamer or 2Simple software to draw their pet??

If you have any thoughts or advice I would be really grateful!

xD Beck xx

Hi Beck & welcome! :D

At the moment Im idealess but will have a think about this one for you!

Remember that ICT doesnt have to be computers for FS, a taped version of your story with sound effects could be nice. I have used simple outline shapes drawn on OHP acetates and blu-tacked to the monitor screen, for children to practise mouse skills and changing tools within a paint program. Could this tie in with your big book. Perhaps children could also write their own caption for an animal of their choice?

Welcome to the Forum from me too!