Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Help With Maths Activities

I am in an NQT in a year one class with 28 children. There are no major behavioural issues and surprisingly they are actually quite good at sitting down all together and getting down to some work. Unfortunately they actually aren’t at all ready for this approach. Of the 28 only 5 had reached that magical 78 on their eye-profile, with the rest being under and a significant number (11 I think off the top of my head) achieving 4 or under in key areas of reading, writing, calculating, number etc. Obviously they are not ready for year one objectives and I’m finding it very challenging trying to set things up and plan lessons which cater for the needs of every child. (My top 5 need year one objectives to stretch them).

Obviously I’ve never done this before and it’s further complicated by the fact that I only teach mornings and the teacher in the afternoon is reluctant to move away from having every child sitting down at the same time, which means I’m limited in space beause of tables/chairs etc. Plus the school has never used continuous provision in year one prior to this year and seem to be looking to me to set it up.