Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Assembly! Argh!

Just wondering if anyone could help. I am an NQT teaching reception and as of now I haven't had to do assemblies. Our head has decided that for the infant assemblies each week he would like an infant class to conduct them based on what we are doing in RE (Catholic School). I have never done an assembly before and was wondering if anyone had any pointers. I have 28 children in my class and would like to include them all in the assembly. Our topic is journeys and so far we have discussed journeys we make, made a 'Our Journeys by foot' class book. We are going on a journey to the shops this week and will take photos which we could project on to a whiteboard as we have this available. What I need is content or any simple songs about journeys we could learn for a week on Thursday. Sorry to ramble on xD Any help would be grately appreciated as I don't want to look a fool infront of infant department!! :D:o

Does it have to have an obvious religious element? Maybe you could start off just mentioning that long ago Mary and Joseph made the journey to Bethlehem and your class have been looking at different types of journeys.Perhaps share your book of journeys with your audience? Perhaps some children could read/say a line or two each about one of the journeys you made? Just wondered if you could relate "All things bright and beautiful" Maybe you saw dogs and cats en route (all creatures great and small) some flowers by the roadside? (each little flower that opens) birds that sing etc etc. Maybe you could have children with flowers/birds etc to show/wave as you sing, it could be at the end thanking God for everything you saw on your journey?

Sorry not exactly great :o