Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Transitions

Hi all,

I am posting to see if anybody has any ideas about how I could manage my transitions in my nursery class better. I'm an nqt so this is my first year trying to do this.

I'm having trouble with the transition from CIL to tidying up to sitting on the carpet. When it's tidy up time I have some chn who go straight to sit on the carpet, some who carry on with what they are doing, some who just wonder round the classroom telling the other children it is tidy up time and some who tidy up and then come sit on the carpet. With a class of 40 I find it difficult trying to get the chn to tidy up and then sit on the carpet while there are some chn messing about on the carpet because they have tidied up their area already. It all seems a bit noisy and chaotic at the moment.

Any suggestions?!

Hello beclawler,

A warm welcome to the forum.

Can I ask do all the children participate in CLL, tisy-up then carpet time together as adult led activity? I wonder if this is too long a time frame for this age group.

If yes to the above, could the CLL work be done in smaller groups? With TA/LSA support?

Maybe offer these adult led activities with some child initiated play inbetween.

I used to encourage my preschool children to tidy as they went along rather than one big tidy up time, for exactly the reasons you state.

Praise (OUT LOUD) the children who are tidying then (hopefully) other will follow.

Hope this helps.

Peggy

Hi there,

welcome to the forum from me too!

We try to tidy up as we go, however, when we do sit down we put on some classical music (same piece every time) and the children do seem to get the gist of it.

We are in preschool. Hope that helps,

Spiral

this might sound a bit harsh but I got really fed up with exactly the same problems - I am in a pre-school though - and made a chart with all the children's names on and ten boxes.