Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Help! New To Fs

HELP!

I am very new to all this. I have moved from a Y5 class to Nursery this year with no training/ preparation/ support in advance. I am booked in for CPD at the end of November but could do with some help now.

I am working in a foundation unit with daycare, nursery and reception so getting some help and assistance there. Though you could say that the unit does not really plan and work together very well.

Need help with planning formats & planning using the EYFS document, teaching ideas, routines, observations, assessments, researching, evaluating adopting & doing baseline assessments (OFSTED want numerical! - school have asked me to address).

Therefore feeling a little bogged down at the moment. I have done alot of reading over the summer holidays (found out about the move in the last week of summer term!). Though help with the nuts & bolts of planning and assessing the children's learning in daily practice, as well as in the running and management of a foundatiuon stage unit is necessary for my own sanity if nothing else.

I have been asked to go there to try and iron out some of the issues in the unit, though I am not the coordinator and scope to change is limited. Also as a novice in Early Years and do not possess the necessary knowledge base to base gut feelings/ decisions upon.

Having said all this - although it is a mammoth task I have got through the first few weeks and am enjoying (if this is the right word!) the difference in teaching styles and philosophy. Looking forward to the challenge - just want to do the right thing by the children and give them a good start.

Would be grateful for any ideas/ advice/ pro formas/ templates/ resources/ links etc.

Thank you

Cloudy (by name and current outlook!!)

Hi Cloudy,

You have come to the right place. Fabulous advice and resources available on this forum.

I have just made a similar move to you but into a new pre-school (ex-teacher).