Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Oh Help!

Hi all,

Some of you may remember that I posted expalining that I am a Year 5 teacher moving, (now moved) to reception. I have completed my first two days and I love it. But.... today we have had the big O call - a subject insp[ection for English. Guess who is subject leader??!! Yup, me. So I was happy getting my head around Foundation stage and all the gubbins that go with it, but now I am stressed. Has anyone had a subject inspection? What happens??????

Thanks in advance for any lovely advice and knowledge

Sarah

(off to open a very LARGE bottle of wine and try to drown in it!)

Thanks in advance for any lovely advice and knowledge

Sarah

(off to open a very LARGE bottle of wine and try to drown in it!)

I am sorry no advice or knowledge, but a good luck and enjoy the wine!! I assume by subject you mean you are still responsible for English over the whole school not in reception??

Clare xxx

Yes, I am over all Literacy co-ordinator for the whole school, so feel like I have the weight of the world on my shoulders now!! Plus, still coping and stumbling through a whole new classroom environment and teaching style. :o

HI Sarahjane

I had a subject inspection back i think in 2006 for ICT. I was so worried but they just want to see your files, what you do, how it is monitored. What evidence have you got to support your findings and what has been written in the SEF. (work, pictures get examples of childrens work reading writing etc across the year groups) they will talk to the children. I was very lucky and the SMT helped me and talked the ofsted inspector about it. You do not get graded but get a letter sent to you and you may get mentioned in a whole LEA letter or something i think. If there was an issue raised i suspect it gets noted for the main insepction?

I hope that helps try not to panic i know its hard we have the big O due very soon and it seems so unfair that we have only just got back. Good luck