Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Key Worker System In School

Not very helpful as I don't but we did discuss it but decided, as there are only 2 adults in the room it wouldn't really work

also parents sometimes prefer to talk to the classteacher and as a class teacher i could'nt have half the children always doing something with the TA as those children would be missing out on my teaching.

but yes i'd also be interested to know if any one is doing it?

We talked about it with our head this time last year and decided that the teacher's would be the key person as they are the one's that do parent's evening, reports etc...

We also discussed it with our EYAT in the Autumn Term and he said that there has been a bit of misunderstanding over the role. Each child does not necessarily have to be assigned a key person. What it is, is recognising that each child may need a key person at different points during the day. He said that for some when they arrive at school it may be someone in the office because they always come in that way. There may be a particular member of staff who the child relates to best so this could be their key person. At lunch time there many be a lunch time supervisor who they prefer etc... He said that the confusion has come because of the old key worker system. I don't know if anyone else has been given that message.

Yes that's what we were advised on Tuesday at our Early Years Twilight.

Someone that they know is looking out for them.

That sounds eminently sensible, particularly in a school environment where the ratios are so different. It does beggar the question though, why they haven't clarified this sooner if it is the case. :o

At the moment our reception class are all fs2, so they are 1-30, so the reception teacher is their key worker, in sept when we have younger children in reception, we think it will have to be 1-13. so employ another level 3 to be their key worker,

hope this helps,Gill

Guest lou73