Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Eyfs Staffing Issues!

:o Hello, this is my first ever message so I hope it works and I get some replies!

I am a nursery nurse who works in a 39 place nursery class with a teacher and a level 2 teaching assistant. We are full and I understand that these ratios are fine in accordance with the EYFS. However I am taken out of nursery to cover PPA in our reception class one afternoon a week and cover for our own teacher's PPA time/meetings/courses etc. This leaves either me or the teacher and the TA2 in nursery. Is this right? We have a few young part time students, are they counted towards staff ratios? I am really confused!

Edited by Guest

39! My goodness. I'd have thought it'd be 1:13 for the teacher, 1:8 for you and 1:8 for the TA2. This makes 29 not 39.

this link clarifies it, i think - it's late and I'm tired!

http://www.teachers.org.uk/resources/word/EYFS STAFFING REQ IN ENG...

Sam

Hi Rachelsigsworth and a warm welcome to the forum. Congratulations on making your first post.......the first of many I hope! :o

Like Dottyp I am in pre-school but Sam's figures certainly look like they add up. I'm sure other's who know will be along soon who can maybe add more advice.

Enjoy the forum! xD

I don't think the ratios are supposed to be as previous posters have stated.

My understanding (and I may be way off base here!!!!) is that maintained nurseries have ratios of 1:13.

BUT

This is a teacher and a nursery nurse (level 3) in nurseries of 26 places

I would have thought in a school nursery with a class of 39 it would have meant 1 teacher and TWO level threes at all times.

Our teacher has PPA cover and a level 4 HLTA covers that.

Have probably added to the confusion here but the 1:8 ratios are for privately run settings.

Will look forward to seeing other thoughts re this numbers situation!! :o

Guest budgie1

Hi rachelsigsworth and welcome to the forum.