Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Ratios For Nursery Class At Lunchtime

I am a reception teacher, but interested in how other nurserys in schools staff lunch time.

My understanding is ratio's should be 13:1, but at lunch time they have one (unqualified ) Lunch time organsier for each nursery class, about 20-26 in each of the 2 classes, is this the norm in other settings?

thankyou in advance for replies! x

Hello!!

I work in nursery where the children stay and have lunch if they want (they bring a packed lunch and eat it in nursery)

At 11.30, our nursery becomes a private concern.

Its run by school, by the staff employed by school, but it is classes as wraparound care from 11.30 -6pm. This includes lunchtime, private nursery provision in the afternoons and then afterschool club.

Becasue it is classed as private provision we have 1 : 8 ratio at lunchtimes.

In reception they are governed by different regulations and have the same dinner lady rations throughout the school I think!!!

I believe each lady has certain duties and maybe certain classes to oversee.

I don't think there are ratios in that instance.

Any help?!!!

In reception they are governed by different regulations and have the same dinner lady rations throughout the school I think!!!

I love the idea of dinner lady rations, Scarlettangel! :o

I think this highlights rather well the differences of experience of two children of broadly similar age but who attend different types of provision.

Maz

We are a playgroup which offers full day care .

I have a dinner lady who covers lunches with the staff , it means that our ratios don`t change and the staff that work 6 hours get a break away from the kids , we jsut have to take in turns to go for lunch.

i work in a private nursery and we usually have 2 staff members doing dinner - only way we can cover dinner times for the staff...so ends up being 2 staff for 16-20 pre school...with a manager floating if needed..

Hello mrspepperpot