Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Quality Provision - Continuous And Focused

Hello everyone. I'm very new to EYFS (taught in top end KS2 for 13 years and volunteered to teach nursery class in FSU last September), and need some guidance on improving learning bays. We currently have these areas: Writing, Home Corner, ICT, Maths, Construction, Water, Sand, Malleable, Creative (art and junk), Music, Role PLay and Outdoors. We have our Continuous Provision PLans up in each area, but I have been worried about the amount of learning that goes on here and the fact that we rarely seem to change some areas (e.g. sand, water). We had begun to assign members to staff to a learning bay each week to play at a focused activity in the hope of encouraging children to come and join in, which worked well, apart from the fact that I then worried about health and safety, as adults were engaged in activities and therefore not able to oversee all of the children. We then divided the unit into 3 areas and provided staff with ideas of activities they could 'play' in a variety of learning bays in each area. I asked my bosses wife, who's an Ofsted Inspector, to observe our unit 'at work' and give some pointers on how to improve. She said it seemed a little 'loose' and that we had to give careful thought to what we wanted the children to learn in each area as well as saying that there should be focused activities relating to our topic in more areas than we currently enhanced. I'm looking for advice on:

How do I ensure that children learn from independent play in continuous provision? (Sometimes, if children are left to their own devices, they tend to play the same things over and over, and the quality of their play seems 'poor' - if I can say that)

How do I keep it stimulating?

How often do I need to change continuous provision and are there any basics that need to be out at all times?

Best ways of long term planning to ensure all objectives of EYFS are covered?