Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Guns And Role Play

Hi I'm doing a degree course and would like some opinions on whether there is a place for "gun" role play in the early years setting? :o

This is a prickly debate one the one hand there is the issue of violence and on the other there is the question of children learning to deal with and understand the world around then in safe imaginary play

I must admit I sit on the fence with this issue I always used to be anti-guns but reading a recent article "should gun play be allowed in the classroom?" in the March edition of Early years Educator, it made me think differently

I dont feel happy to encourage children to play at killing each other and we dont allow guns in playgroup but some children and dare I stereo type by saying boys need encouraging to develope their imaginations sometimes its interesting to hear the whole of the role play when a gun has been made using lego or any oth construction toy, the children know that guns are bad and wrong and they follow the stories with hospitals and police the gun gets forgoten and the children move on with their new story in the hospital or with the baddy being taken to "jail".

Not all children go to bed early before the watershed many young children see horrific scenes on the TV late at night, parents think they are too young to understand, children need to beable to express their worries and fears.

All though in the ideal world gun play is not great sometimes its important to think about

" why is this child playing guns?" and

" where is the role play heading?"

one of the main roles of working with children is to observe the child and then guide them, so discussions rather than blanket rules such as "no guns" can lead to different out comes.

another thought - the more you tell a child "no" the more they want to do something!