Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Organising A Reception Day

Hello everyone!

This is my first post and i hope i can explain what i want to ask without being too confusing! I am a nursery class teacher in a maintained class within a Primary School. We are lucky enough to share a large outdoor area with the reception class. After lots of hard work we have almost got the nursery set up to a place where i want to be... We have free flow in and outdoors with CI learning happening for most of the session, minimal stops and starts during the session, rolling snack, and next steps planning for individual children from observations.

In an ideal world I think it would work really well if the whole foundation stage were to work more closely together, in this kind of way, using the outdoor area together, running similar type routines. I feel strongly that we are ONE STAGE and that the advice in the EYFS is for reception as well. I know there obviously needs to be more emphasis on teacher inputs in Rec. but can there still be time for extended CI learning and free-flow? I would love the nursery children who move on to rec to have a similar kind of provision.

Are there any Rec teachers out there who have made this kind of set up work and how? How do you cover the outside supervision with just 2 adults? How do you fit in all the guided groups and phonics etc and still allow time for quality CI learning? Am i being too unrealistic???

Edited by Guest