Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Peal Training

I am going on the PEAL (Parents, Early Years and Learning) training next week and wondered if anybody else had done this and what they thought?

Linda

Hi there - I have done it and I am now a trainer for it. It's excellent for supporting practitioners who are working with parents - looks at good practice and ideas for involving them in all types of settings. Very good for practitioners who may not have good attitudes towards parents. Materials are super. I highly recommend it.

The website is great too with some resources to download free.

here

Hi Linda! I have done it and I'm afraid I wasn't very impressed at all - I came away thinking that it had been a day wasted and that I hadn't learnt anything new. However, I think maybe that this was due to the attitude of the individual trainer - most of the group gave very negative feedback about his approach and attitude to the feelings and experiences of the group being trained.

Sorry to be so negative - I'm usually a very positive person - and I hope that you have a much better day! :o Let us know how you get on!

I too have done it and although I didn't really learn anything new on it I was impressed with the resources I was given especially in terms of using them with less experienced staff back at the setting. I did also really enjoy the day and had a very good experience with my trainer. It was the first training course I had gone on outside of LA training and it was so nice to be treated as a grown up for a change! No being read to for one thing.

Hope you enjoy your experience of it!

Hi Wolfie - sorry to hear you didn't rate the training - it may well have been the trainer but also for practitioners who do have good parental involvement and a positive approach to parents it may seem "old hat". I agree with holly that for staff who have little or no experience and who find it difficult to relate or value parental involvement it's excellent stuff.

Hi Wolfie