Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Observations And Assesments

Carol600

Hi can anyone give me any help with observations and assesments ia a childminder who is a little bit confussed like everyone else about EYFS and what it actually entails in our job any help would be great thanx

This is my first time on here so hello everyone x

Just wanted to welcome you, there are lots of childminders on the forum so it won't be long until someone comes along with some helpful advice. :oxD:(

Hi Carol,

Welcome to the forum. :o

I think the kinds of observations childminders do can be the same ones that other practitioners do in their settings. They fall into two types, I think; the "catch as you can" quick notes that you do whe you notive something significant, and the lengthier observations on a child when they are engaged fully in an activity.

Do you take photos of the children, and stick them in a record book/file, etc?

You may also want some kind of record (obviously not a checklist!!), and you might find the ones I uploaded into the resources section useful. When I had my own nursery, we used to stick in the observations, photos etc into each child's special book, then mark off on the record sheet which development matters statement the observations gave evidence for (ie we just put a date in the column next to the appropriate statement. You can find them by clicking on resources, then resource library, then observation and assessment, and scrolling down to page 2. They are called EYFS child record CD (boy) for example. xD

Hiya thanks for your help and advice i have had a quick look at them i think its gonna take some getting used to tho!! would you mind if i download them i can possibly adapt them to suit my setting? thanx again :o xx

Hi Carol,