Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Formal Pe

Hi I wonder if anyone knows the answer -I am a reception teacher working in a foundation stage unit. Our PE coordinator feels that reception children should be doing 'proper' timetabled PE lessons and although I certainly dont think it would do the children any harm I am not sure if it fits into the EYFS curriculum-we have access to the outside area for much of the day, have all sorts of physical equipment (climbing , balancing . provide bats,balls,hoops etc. use the parachute on occasions but I am worried in case I should be doing the formal type of PE lesson that is done in school. We struggle to fit everything into the day as it is -i.e. we have short sessions of carpet time and provide longer periods for uninterrupted play. The Nursery teacher also was wondering about doing a PE lesson -although I did say to her that I felt this would not be expected. Any advice would be appreciated as we just want to 'get it right!'

Thanks for any advice.

I attended an update day for the early years advisors in our authority last week and this subject came up because we had a physical development advisor speaking to the group - he said that there should definitely NOT be any formal P.E. lessons in either nursery or reception.

Thanks wolfie -I am going to show your reply to our PE coordinator!!! Hope you dont mind-I thought that we didnt need to do formal PE- I will probably do one or two lessons in Summer term to ease transition to Y1-but I also felt that there was no need as long as we were delivering the EYFS curriculum correctly -cheers !!!

We have a formal timetabled session in the hall, but I use it for all sorts of things! - not always PE - it does come in handy when the weather is really foul.