Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Early Years Staff Meeting

Calling out to all experienced Reception practitioners.

I am a Reception teacher in a 1 form entry school and have been asked by my head to present a staff meeting to all staff about 'The Foundation Stage'. This to to make all members of staff aware of how the curriculum works, assessment, etc as i'm sure some staff have no idea that we don't follow the National Curriculum!!

I was hoping for some advice and ideas of the kind of things i could include in the meeting. I don't want to make it so that it is 45 minutes of me constantly talking. If anyone has any ideas of practical ways i could introduce things, or if anyone has done a meeting like this before i would be really grateful if you share your ideas.

Thanks everyone

Tiny

When I have held these sort of staff meetings I always insist that they are carried out in one of the foundation stae classrooms. Set up the nursery / reception room up as you would do on a normal day (include the outside area). Encourage stakk to participate in activities (if you put cornflour out and gloop atc. they will be exploring for ages). Get them to count how many activities are available. Show them round all the areas of learning and explain each curriculum area as you go and how it relates to the NC (KUW science/ his /Geo etc). Show them planning proformas / assessment folders (could have them on display on a table). Gather group together for questions. This is far more interactive. Have an agenda ready to remind you of key points and copies of curriculum plans etc. Good luck

Hi!

I was going to say have you asked your LEA if they have a training pack as ours produced one which had a video and overheads which had info on the F/S Curriculum.