Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Working In A Special School?

Guest Carlan

Hi, I am a teacher of a class of Reception, Y1, 2, 3 and 4!!!! in a Special school for physically disabled children but who mostly have developmental delay too. I also plan for the medium term for the nursery class .Just wondered if there is anyone else out there in similar position. I am finding Child iniitated very tricky due to the communication needs of the children and their physical needs also. A lot of activites are teacher or adult led. Do some child iniitated by giving the ch a choice of three activities but they need complete adult support to engage in these. Also makes observation very difficult.

Thankyou :o

Hi, I am a teacher of a class of Reception, Y1, 2, 3 and 4!!!! in a Special school for physically disabled children but who mostly have developmental delay too. I also plan for the medium term for the nursery class .Just wondered if there is anyone else out there in similar position. I am finding Child iniitated very tricky due to the communication needs of the children and their physical needs also. A lot of activites are teacher or adult led. Do some child iniitated by giving the ch a choice of three activities but they need complete adult support to engage in these. Also makes observation very difficult.

Hi, I can't help...just wanted to welcome you to the forum.

:o

Welcome to the Forum, Carlan!

You need to talk to Nichola: I'm sure she'll be along with some words of wisdom and support before long!

In the meantime, make yourself at home and have a good rummage about... :o

Maz

Hi Carlan, A warm welcome from me too. :o

My Foster son will be going to a special school in September, We've just got his Stat assessment and he will get a place in yr 7. So I look forward to reading the responses to your question too.

My Foster son has global development delay and is on the P scales ( or to me he is at EYFS level).