Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Reception Ideas

Guest julie

Guest julie

HI,

I am currently a teacher of Year 3, but will be moving into Reception in September. We recently had an Ofsted, who felt that teaching and learning in Reception was Unsatisfactory. I have been set the challenge of turning the Foundation Stage around (we have 1 reception class in our school). I would be really grateful for any ideas in any way, shape or form, that you have found useful, and that I can try to incorporate into my 'blank canvas', of the Foundation Stage!

Thanks

Julie.

make as much as you can practical with lots of choice and different learning outcomes (to use an outdated term). Indoors and out.

Hi Julie -

Welcome to the forum and thanks for your post! :D

It sounds like you've been sent in as one of those CEO's of a troubled organisation. Hope you're not feeling the responsibility too heavily!

First of all, how much have you read of the posts in the community here? There is a lot of really valuable discussion on Foundation Stage techniques and ideas, particularly in Practice and Provision, where I think the 'Reception - the Best Way Forward' discussion is hosted. Many reception teachers have contributed to some really first class debate in this area.

Second, if you let us know what some of your weak and strong areas are, maybe we can concentrate on them? I'm sure you'll get some really good ideas and help if you let us know where you'd really like to develop and strengthen your foundation stage provision.

Welcome again -

Steve.

Hi Julie, and welcome to the site :D