Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

How To Baseline F1 Children?

Hi everyone

I am a reception teacher and currently we have 3 intakes a year. I will be losing my current class after christmas and will be gaining a new one. They will have just turned 4 and the spring term will be their first term out of 5.

My currect class was no problem because they are in their FS year I could baseline them using the FSP. However my next class will not be in their FS year for another 2 terms and I know that you shouldn't be assessing them against the FSP if they are in F1, but how do I baseline them?

I have been told to baseline them against the development matters statements but surely this would take way too long as there are so many and I will only have them for one term and then the next intake will come in. I don't want to spend 6 weeks assessing them when i only have them for 8 weeks!

AARGH any suggestions on how others are baselining their F1 children?

Pleeeeeeeeeaaaaaaaaaseeeeeee?

Goodness me Rufus what a short amount of time to have the children - they will just be getting to know you and then move on to another teacher is that right?

I was at a meeting with the strategy folk recently and the infomation coming from them is NO BASELINE. They suggest using your normal every day observations and then from these see where you are planning for the children using development matters. You could then say what % you were planning for at each stage.

Not sure if this helps!

Goodness me Rufus what a short amount of time to have the children - they will just be getting to know you and then move on to another teacher is that right?

Yes that is right, it's hardly anytime at all! Roll on 2010 when we move to 1 term intake.

what you are saying makes sense and fits in (from what i have heard) with what ofsted are asking. What percentage of your cohort are in which dev matters stages.