Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Letters And Sounds Phase 1

Anyone doing this really successfully trying to put a halt on settings missing out phase 1 and thinking the children have to learn their letter sounds which is phase 2. need to point out how important phase 1 is.

We are in a CLLD project in our LA and they are making it very clear that PVI and maintained nurseries only use phase one. We are also in the project taking the messagfes from phase one through to phase six with games, music etc.

Hi Gwen,

This is my first year in YR, so not exactly an expert, though literacy is my thing.

We cross phase phonics throughout the school, YR children (and also a couple of Y1s) who needed phase one ran through it at the beginning of the year, before progressing onto phase 2 at the beginning of this week. We had a particularly bright bunch this year. so took the decision that those who were ready should go straight on to phase 2. In one case, this was a mistake, and the child in question, having completed phase 2 in terms of coverage, is now having to revisit that phase, with additional phase one activities as an extra, but otherwise it has worked well. However, all the children accessed phase one activities throughout the week as an extra, particularly the oral blending/segmenting aspect, and the musical awareness, which is ongoing for us.

If a child is struggling with blending/segmenting, whether they know letter sounds or not, we tend do more phase one stuff with them too. Having taught right the way through to Y6, I'm convinced that the problems we have had as a school with spelling are largely down to basic phonological awareness, children with poorly developed listening skills, and rushing on to quickly to make sure we were at the right point (in terms of coverage) for spelling bank in the juniors.

I'm a huge phase one fan!