Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Nursery Nurse Job Descriptions Being Re-written

Hi, I work as a nursery nurse in a school nursery.

We recently received a visit from the union GMB telling us that all Job Descriptions for Nursery Nurses are being re-written. I am not sure why this is but have been led to believe it is to do with the EYFS and the extra hours of care that settings are asked to provide.

My nursery teacher has also confirmed that our Council are re-writing the job description for nursery nurses and they will be in place by September 2009. However, she doesn't know what impact this will have on me yet.

GMB have informed me though, that our council is one of a few Councils still employing nursery nurses on a 52 week contract and this will be one of the major changes within the new job description. They are going to be reducing them to 39 week contracts in line with the TA's.

Is anyone else aware of these (or any other) changes? Where do we stand? Can they reduce our contract from 52 to 39 weeks (even though we only work 39 weeks at present)? Can they force us to work during school holidays to make it up to 52 weeks? This will have serious implications on pay and I am so worried about it all.

Can anyone shed any light on this?

Regards,

Julie

Hiya and welcome

This has been on the cards for a long time,trying to reduce paying NN in the school holidays.I am a nursery nurse on a 52 week contract in a school. they would still have to pay us holiday pay so it would work out we would be 6 weeks pay down a year after our holiday pay is added on to the weeks.

I dont know where we stand as to them changing the contracts, I am also in GMB union and there is lots of things changing with the implementation of single status.

What area are you in.

Sorry cant offer any help, just to let you know there are a few of us this position.