Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Easy Read

Hi

Has anyone had any experience using the Easy Read system???? I'm trying to help my 6 year old son with reading and writing. Have also seen some information on Toe by toe and sound foundations.

Anyone used any of these before i open my purse??

Hi SJW,

I used the 'Toe by Toe' many years ago with my dyslexic son and it seemed to work quite well in conjunction with other techniques. This was something I got through his Educational Psychologist - she photocopied the whole lot and sent it home for me to do with him - so I have no idea how much it was and whether I would have thought it worth the money! I found it easy to fit in, in small easy to manage chunks which didn't take too much time.

Unfortunately I have no experience of any other schemes.

Hi. I don't know about easy read.

Toe by toe costs about £6.99 (rough estimate). It is highly-structured and a child has to work through the book methodically. We have used it with children for 20 minutes, five times a week. One child I teach, works through toe by toe at home with parents and works on beat dyslexia at school (twice a week). Another child has two toe by toe sessions at school and three with parents.

Improvements have been seen with childen who have used this - one child lost confidence for a while and found it frustrating (as three consecutive ticks are needed before you move on to another exercise). The class teacher usually links the class spelling test with whichever spelling pattern the child is on with toe by toe (where possible).

At first glance toe by toe looked very dry - just a lot of exercises to go through every day but it is based on increasing word building and introducing new sounds. The exerises are short and most children enjoy them. Other schemes like active literacy and beat dyslexia have timed challenges and more game based learning.