Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Eyfs Principles And Reception Class Planning

Hi there - before I ask for some advice, I would just like to say how much I appreciate this forum and the wealth of advice and resources it offers - thank you very much!

I work as a TA in a shared YR1/Reception class and am a little confused about the practice in the Reception class. They are mostly following EYFS practice but are joining year 1 for discrete lessons in Art, Music, ICT & PE (with the exception of PE, this is all bums on seats, national curriculum stuff) I thought that Reception now had their own curriculum and that

teaching subjects in a discrete format was not exactly what the principles of the EYFS is about? I know the obvious thing is to ask the teacher, but I don't want to offend/tread on any toes, especially as I'm probably not sure what I'm talking about!!! I would love to hear from other mixed classes...what do you do?

Thanks in advance,

Lynnja

Guest tinkerbell

I am a teacher in a r/yr1 class and it is a nightmare to work.You say the EYFS is about continous provision not discrete teaching,I agree, but if your teacher has been on the courses i have been on they would have been given mixed messages.

We have to do daily discrete phonics,and my LEA say we should be doing 2 guided reading sessions and 1 guided/shared writing,this is for reception.Once I start sending reding books home I will also be hearing individual readers.....on top of this I do bums on seats teaching for the year1 some of the time!!

talk to your teacher and help her work out a timetable and ways of providing continous provision for all the children .i have an an amazing TA who i consider to be a partner in the classroom.I love my TA asking and we attend our LEA's EYFS meetings together.

Tinkerbellx