Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Homework In Early Years

I have been an Early Years Teacher for 13 years. I have EYPS. My son started a Reception Class (not where I work) in September and I was really happy with the school, but a couple of things have been niggling me. They have a lovely conservatory built outside each classroom, set up with builders trays, easels etc.. (3 Reception Classes) but my son tells me they are never allowed to play there. Secondly, he is give phonic homework 3 times a week and today scrawled across it in blue pen was the words 'very disappointing work, colour neatly please'. I'm completely gobsmacked. Am I right to be upset, or is it me who's missing the point here. Surely the fact that he is getting homework is a topic for debate in itself, but is not positive encouragement the way to go rather than defacing it with negative comments. I can't quite get over it...

This does not sound right to me, I hope you get this sorted out soon other wise you son mithgt go off the whole idea of learning

Thanks.

I've already emailed the school this evening, pretty much saying just that. I am literally astonished.

A change of schools sounds good to me - had my son in wrong school for far too long. You will find it very hard to get them to change their ways. Make the move whilst he is still young - I regretted not moving mine, it gets harder as they get older.

Thanks.

I've already emailed the school this evening, pretty much saying just that. I am literally astonished.

I can't believe your son gets homework in Reception that sounds like it is being marked as if it was Junior Work! You are right to question this. All those lovely games that could be played, fun/ nonsense rhymes, just enjoying the rhythm and metre of simple poetry etc.etc. Surely that would be a better way tohelp your son improve his phonics? Have you asked any other parents what they think? Good luck.