Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Activities For Autistic Children In Reception

Hi everyone,

I've currently got a little boy in my class with autism and am having difficulty thinking of activities to give him. He doesn't speak yet and rarely focuses/shows an interest in anything. He seems to enjoy bubbles landing on him and is vaguely interested in the cars but I was wondering if anyone had any ideas they might have used in a Reception class that might grab his attention.

Have been trying a schedule with him with picture symbols (having used all of the links on the autistic symbols topic, thankyou those were really useful!) but its not really working. He prefers to throw them on the floor! Am also having trouble in whole class sessions as he is very vocal and distracts the other children. Have started to ask the LSA supporting him to take him out after a few minutes. Any advice or ideas would be really appreciated as I have little experience of working with autistic children and am finding it difficult!!

Becky :)

Hi Becky, sorry I cant help you but you should have more support. In a pre-school with a higher adult:child ratio problems can arise through distractions, but even then we can get support, even if it's only for a little while. Hope you can find more help from others. :D

I had a little boy in my pre-school who also displayed these tendencies. I gave him things to throw like beanbags and soft balls. He used to try and throw them in a bucket.He would play with the cars if I made him an elevated ramp to roll them down. He was also very obsessed with coming down the slide. In fact all his behaviour was repetitive.It was hard coping with him in pre-school any little improvement was a milestone.