Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Self Registration

Hi there,

I'm new to the FSF and have already noticed that loads of people are doing self registration in the morning. I'd love to hear about how people actually organise this as it sounds like something I would be interested in implementing in my reception class. Thanks! :o

I'm in pre-school, but each child has a magnet with a picture which begins with the same letter sound as their first name. Their first and second names are printed alongside - so children begin to link pictures with letter sounds alongside recognition of their name. We have a magnetic easel with all the magnets on one side (one marked 'out' and one marked 'in'), and then as each child arrives they take their magnet from the 'out' side of the board and move it to the 'in' side!

Maz

My reception children use the interactive whiteboard to self register with whether they are having a packed lunch or a school dinner. I got the template off of sparklebox in smart noteboard format. It has different coloured balloons where you write the children's names. The balloons start off on the grass and the children move them to a cloud depending on what they are having for lunch.

Have a look on sparklebox. I don't know if they have any different formats now.

as most of ours are very young, we have a photograph of each child with their name underneath, this is laminated and has a strip of magnetic tape stuck to the back, and they stick it to the magnetic board when they arrive, and return them to a basket when they are going home. We can remove the photo as they get older and/or recognise their name

Our children learn to recognise their name printed on a laminated card in the corridor outside our room. When they come inside they stick their name card on a board (velcro) thus registering their presence. It's wonderful to see how quickly they actually learn to do this independently. :o