Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

What Can Count Towards Your Foundation Degree?

Hello all.

Probably starting next September I will need to start the foundation degree to ensure that by 2015 there is someone with a degree working in afternoon nursery.

My question here is does anything, ANYTHING AT ALL count towards that degree?

If so, what?

I have my NNEB certificate (1982)

I have my City and Guild 7303 teaching and assessing adult and further education certificate.

I have 26 years worth of experiences in different settings, jobs, all to do with children and their care.

I have only read an overview re the course but I see no mention of any experiences counting towrds this goal.

I will be doing the long route..... part time, possibly one day a week dependant on where I do the degree......... IF I get accepted of course!

Can anyone offer any thoughts here?

I'd be grateful

Thanks!

when I signed up, all i needed was a level 3 qualification and two years experience of working in a setting.I have been told though, that some people haven't got any qualifications (no-one on my course is in this position though).I'm sure you'll get on the course, so good luck with it!

Hello

You have lot's of experience and you will be fine. I've just completed my first year and would say the more experience you have the better prepared you are as you will be able to pull on your knowledge. Go for it ................... we can all help you lots and you won'r regret it. I am actually missing mine lots at the mo and can't wait to go back.

:o (I was really shocked when I contacted my Uni recently about someone wanting to start - the entry criteria is relevant experience, working with children and a reference). I've got to say that is not fair on the student -the more experience you have of working working children, the theory and working towards qualifications. the better prepared you will be.

Good luck