Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Nursery Ict

Hi all - I've been told that I have to take the nursery children to the ICT suite next year and I'm dreading it! Does anyone have any ideas what activities I can do? Also any organisational tips would be helpful as I can just imagine a chorus of "I want to go on CBeebies!" Thank you!!

Kermit, I've never used a suite with nursery before but I would concentrate on teaching skills and letting the children experiment.

Show them how a program works, each game or part of it depending on what you have available to you and then let them have a go! I concentrate on mouse skills at first, they need to know how to click, drag etc and to have some coordination between hand and eye to move objects so a paint program or something like dressing teddy is good. There are also some simple games on Northumberland gfl although I have never used the internet with mine! Once you have some mouse skills in place, you can think about using the computer/ ICT with other areas of learning, so games to support mathematical learning or literacy which will again enhance mouse skills. If you have lower case keyboards, you could at some stage encourage them to find the letters for their name or just play, we write "messages" and I show them how to use the space bar etc.

Remember that ICT includes much more than just the computer so dont feel threatened to use the suite if you feel the children cant cope, try it every few weeks and see how you get on. I think it will depend alot on the lay out of your suite too. the children do, im my experience need to be able to see you easily and whay you are demonstrating.

Good luck.