Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Tracking Fsp Term By Term

hi I am a reception year teacher who has been assessing the results of the FSP and PIPS for this year and last year. Last year although my children were in a class setting they achieved good results and had made very good progress in both FSP and PIPS, this year having access to the whole foundation stage and joint planning by all members of the team and delivery to all children both results have been very poor both in performance and progress. Are there any tracking sheets out there that plot where a child should be in each area of the FSP relation to how long they have been in the fs? :o

hope there is something out there!

Hi Chocolatebrownie and welcome.

I'm sorry to hear that you are disappointed with your childrens progress and performance but have you considered the nature of the cohort? I firmly believe that PSE underpins the curriculum and the progress and performance will be determined by where your children are in this.

I also hope that there are no such expectations of where the children should be as that will depend on each individual.

If you remember that the average child is expected to achieve scale point 6 in the 6 areas then that works out at roughly 2 scale points per term. However this would only be a very rough guide, as like Susan says each child is individual and will progress at their own rate. If you think that any SEN children will perform below this and the higher ability children may well exceed this then it does work out roughly (although there are some aspects where most children will struggle to get above 6 or 7 in one academic year I feel eg in CLL.

Hope this helps.