Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Keyworker Systems - Help Needed Please!

Hi everyone

As newly appointed FS Leader of nursery and reception classes, I have been assigned the glorious job of ensuring that EYFS is implemented effectively from September!

We have no experience of working with the children using the 'key worker' approach and I am desperate for pointers in the right direction!!

How do yours work?

Are members of staff responsible for planning and assesment of their key group?

How do you get together to dicuss findings and next steps?

What does your planning look like?

Do members of staff follow their key children around all day?????

As you can see, I need BASICS!

Here's Hoping!

Nicola xx :o

:o

Hi i have worked in a private day nursery and now i work in a school nursery which has 39 children both morning and afternoon. How we do it is our children are given a colour yellow, green or blue teddy. This is their way and parents way of knowing which key worker their child belongs to. This is then used when the children self register on a morning with their parents the teddy is asleep with their name on they have to turn it round and wake their teddy up. We have three different coloured boxes green etc this is where children put items they want to keep at nursery but need to go home. The children put work that is completed into these boxes. At the end of the session each keyworker goes into a separate part of the nursery with their children and each staff member sees their children to the correct parent. This is the time that the items are given out of the boxes. We use the colours for lots of things when we are leaving the carpet when all 39 have been sat together we choose a colour teddy group at a time to go and get coats on.