Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Aahh Please Help Me - Re: Ta Post

This evening I've just had a phonecall from a headmistress at a nearby Primary School regarding a job application I sent in yesterday for the position of Teaching Assistant.

She has invited me to go in on Friday and work with a class of year 2 pupils between 1pm and 2pm......ahhhh to say I'm scared is an understatement. xD

I currently work as a Registered Childminder so have no idea what will be expected of me on Friday also I'm more confident working with babies to 4yr olds....6 and 7yr olds frighten me lol !!!! :o

I've also been invited for an interview on Monday at 6.15pm - nothing like short notice.

I'd really, really appreciate some advice and tips.

Thanks x

Guest Wolfie

Can you fit in time for a visit to the school before Friday, just to familiarise yourself with the surroundings and a couple of faces? Fear of the unknown is a big thing and I think it would help you to have an idea of how things look and run before you go in there in an interview situation.

If you CAN go, ring and say that you would like to come and look round - and go armed with a few questions, the answers to which might in turn help you at the interview.

I can't help as far as the actual interview goes but I'm sure someone else can!

Good luck and let us know how you get on! :o

Think of Y2 as big 4 year olds :o

Can't offer a lot of advice as all schools use support staff differently but I would think Letters & Sounds may come up so might be worth taking a quick look also the new literacy and numeracy framework just to show you are aware. Good Luck

I have been helping out in a year 2 class this year and its a great age group. They thrive on praise and as a teaching ass while ive been in that class a lot of time has been listening to readers helping with their writing etc.