Home
Forum
Articles
About Us
Tapestry

Holiday And Pirate Topics Please Help!

Hello, this is my first time posting something on the forum! Not sure if I am doing it right!? I am trying hard to plan my topic for the summer term - my reception class are doing holidays and we are having an outdoor campsite - requested by the class - but would appreciate any planning ideas for this topic. We are also having a whole school Pirate week with a science focus ( parents invited to see end result!) and i have no ideas of what to do - only floating and sinking come to mind, but not sure how to make it exciting for parents and children! Any help appreciated. Thank you Cat xox :o

Well for Pirates recently, we sang the pirate song, made pirate eye patches out of felt, bit of material for a head scarf, made pirate flags for our boat, read a great book about Tom's pirate house which involved girl pirates which was a good way of challenging stereotypical views. We also made pirate pizza boats - half a bridge roll cut lengthways, spread with tomato ketchup, topped with grated cheese and ham and tomatoes etc, topped with one of those sandwich buffet flags, which the children wrote their names on. They were very well received by the children.

Hope that's some help.

Hi there.

um, i camp, and the most important thing to me is having a flat surface (for obvious reasons).

Could this be fitted in to the planning, looking at different enviroments to camp, hills, rocky areas ect.

What happens if you choose the wrong area, (gravity). ????? :o

We balanced a plank into the water tray so that our duplo/playmobil people had to walk the plank and land in a boat. Also asked children to try doing it with one hand only and an eye patch on. Not really science I know.

We also got the children to design the best pirate boat using re cycled materials - any use?

Posy

• 1 month later...
Guest LOSINGTHEWILLTOLIVE

[a